National Gun Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am interested in getting a tactical weapon, M-16,AR15,etc. I would only use this for home defense and plinking around. I am wanting something that I don't make the wife mad when she goes to look at the checkbook!! I want something that I can build up myself as far as scope,stock,sights,lights, whatever. I have looked at turning a Ruger 10/22 into one. I don't know anything about this rifle, but I know there is alot out there for it. I have figured I could get a gun, replacement stock and barrel for around $500. But you guys know what works, and what would be around what I am looking for. I appreciate any input from anyone as I am new to getting a gun of this sort. Thanks for all who help!!

·
Ruler of Ramnation
1,013 Posts
Tactical, close range, simple, inexpensive? Remington 870 HD. You can accessorize it also--tac light, ghost rings, sling, speed-feed stock..........

·
Premium Member
15,424 Posts
We've conversed before on this forum, Mr. reddog89, about best rifle to hunt with in SE KY. I agree with Ram Rod that a Remington Mod 870 might be your wisest choice. The important thing, regardless what you decide ultimately to buy, is to get some competent instruction in how to handle, use and care for your firearm.

Please don't think I'm being patronizing, but reading your posts, you seem to have little knowledge about firearms. There's nothing wrong with that and by joining a forum such as this one you can gain a lot of knowledge in a short amount of time. But remember, what you're going to hear -- for the most part -- is the opinion and preference of an experienced shooter, not someone who specializes in firearms training.