National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 105 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just recently got a Winchester model 12 built 1926 that has a cracked wrist, it was repaired with electrical tape and was holding together fine, but I wont to get it fully fixed and was wondering what the best glue/product would be. How should I handle this? I was just going to put Gorilla glue on it, clamp it good, and then wait a day or 2. But I thought I should come here first and see what the pros say. I'm only a beginner gunsmith so any help would be much appreciated.

·
Aim true !
11,550 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok! thanks! One question, would J.B. weld be a possible option? It seems to work on everything and states on the package that its good for wood. is there any ground to that?

·
Registered
6,507 Posts
You could attempt to glean some knowledge from this fellow.

·
Super Moderator
14,623 Posts
Numrich gun parts. It's likely out of stock, so, you watch for it every day and buy a new/used stock when one comes available.

Alan

·
Super Moderator
14,623 Posts
That black stuff is what used to be wood. It is now wood rot. You can probably scrape it away with your fingernail. Where the metal meets the wood is already crumbling and will continue to do so. It has been damaged by years of water and oil and trapping it under electrical tape only sped up the process. If this is a gun you intend to use, then getting a new/used stock is the way to go. There are lesser options and I suppose you could put some new electrical tape on it and call it good. I used a shotgun for years duck hunting, in brackish water, that was held together with screws, bailing wire and leather straps. It killed ducks but it was ugly as a Spoony.

If it is a sentimental thing then get a new stock, make the gun sound, and put grandpa's stock up on a shelf.

Alan

·
Aim true !
11,550 Posts