National Gun Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well im not a complete noobie when it comes to guns, I own several air rifles and play paintball, so I have some discipline and skill, but being in New Zealand means I dont have access to the same kind of guns you lucky Americans do!

So aaaanyway...finally starting to sort out my gun license (fingers crossed) and starting to wonder...what will my first real rifle be?

I'm thinking a simple .22, bolt action or semi auto doesnt matter. I dont really care about range or power, its for plinking cans and practice, seeing if i can carry over some of my shooting skills from air rifles to the real thing. I guess semi auto would be the most fun though...and I'm gunna want to suppress it too..

So...whats a good accurate starting rifle? Has to be easy to field strip/clean/look after (remembering I am a novice). Has to be cheap. Any ideas guys?

·
Big Honkin' Daddy
1,247 Posts
Ruger 10/22 semi auto. The possible mods are endless.

·
Ruler of Ramnation
1,013 Posts
Put me down for the 10/22 also. You might find a tube fed Marlin or something for less though.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Nice...just looked a few up, they don't look so bad neither huh? Couple of the modded up ones especially look badass. I like the sound of an easily moddible rifle like this, and Ruger have got a good name...3 out of 3 votes for it so far this is looking like the one for me so far...

·
Chicago Pro-Gun Activist
2,444 Posts
Mossberg 702 Plinkster .22 LR 10 shot magazine semi-auto - bought one for my son $115 - very nice and accurate rifle

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Okay...cant find the Mossberg anywhere over here, or even one vaguely like it.

I'm really liking the Ruger 10/22...esp the whole customizable thing. And theyre readily available over here.

I started another thread asking about suppressors...as i want to put one on rifle when I get one...and I ran into this: