National Gun Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to the store tomorrow picking up a 10/22 and possibly ordering a fn 15 comp we'll see how I'm feeling but I'm new to the scene so how do you figure out a good scope? How do you know what you like? They range from cheap to more expensive than a gun how do you choose and know what you'll be comfortable with? Take it back till you find something you like?

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd say I have 200 yards to practice down lane with I'd have to get an accurate measurement which my buddy coming tomorrow has a range finder so thatll be easy but I figure 200 yards or less what's typically considered close quarters 100 yards?

·
Aim true !
10,293 Posts
Cool congrats on the decision to get the 10/22. I had red dots on my AR 22'S. If your going to shoot some distances you may want a magnified scope.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah eventually I want to do some coyote hunting but I want to make sure I'm a decent shot before I start shooting live animal.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I think you might've been the one to mention it in my first post @coalcracker so I did a bit of research and I'm making it happen thanks for the suggestion if that was you

·
Aim true !
10,293 Posts
Yeppers it was me. And your very welcome. :thumbsup:

·
Premium Member
5,919 Posts
200 yards is a long shot for a .22. The drop of a 40 grain bullet at 200 yards is 55”. Not even going to say anything about the energy.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Was looking at a 5.56 ar 15 the Ruger was just cheap practice I dont have to shoot the 200 yards I was just saying I think that's about what I got

·
Live Free
2,879 Posts