National Gun Forum banner

What is the best way to reseal shotshells when reloading?

3K views 22 replies 9 participants last post by  Square target 
#1 · (Edited)
I want to "reload" some 20 gauge shotshells with 20 gauge 'round ball' and some others with '00' Buck. The shot shells are 2 3/4, loaded with 6, 7 1/2, and 8 shot. I want to empty the existing shot and reload them as described. I am a reload novice and need to know how to best accomplish this and make sure I don't lose compression in the shell,...or blow anything up.
I am NOT removing the wad or powder load. I am trying to repurpose factory shells because I am unable to find 'round ball' and '00' Buck in factory made. I located one box (10 rds) of HERTER'S 20 gauge Round Ball at an auction, and recently came across a bulk lot of loose 20 gauge Round Ball "shot" and a bulk lot of loose '00' Buck.
I am going to try my repurposing idea anyway, but was hoping to get some advice since I haven't done ANY reloading. I do not have the normal reloader equipment, even for hand loading, but am not avert to buy some to accomplish this.

#3 ·
Shotshells are more forgiving in reloading but I would not recommend what you are trying to do. Why would you want to load a solid lead ball? Why wouldn't you just look for 00 buckshot or slugs for use in your 20 ga. If you have never reloaded before count your blessings on all your fingers.

Reactions: Ziggidy
#4 ·
Like I said, I found a box of Herter's 20 gauge "Two Ball" cartridges. They are factory made and I like the efect they have when they strike their target (think slug x2). I have seen some new factory rounds that are ball/shot cartridges, ball in front, shot in back, but that is not what I'm looking for. As for '00' for 20 ga., I have been looking consistently. I am able to find 2 Buck, and occassionally 1 Buck, but nothing in the '0's.