National Gun Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to all this. Can someone help me with the best 9mm ammo that will stop someone without a lot of travel afterwards. I'm always concerned about what is in the other room or across the street if I get in a situation.

·
Former Tough Guy
117 Posts
For the most part, any top end commercial hollow-point 9mm "should" remain within a person given a solid COM hit.

They are designed to penetrate between 10-14 inches and expand. This transfers all of the bullet's energy into the target, and via the expansion, cause a larger permanent wound channel.

All of the major names make appropriate ammo. Specialty ammo like Glaser Safety Slugs, MagSafe and Extreme Shock (spelling?) are designed to dump their energy even faster...say within 5-7 inches and fragment, causing multiple wounds and seriously reducing the risk or amount of over-penetration. BUT, they may not penetrate deeply enough to sufficient damage organs and stop the attack.

So, a long winded partial answer..... :)

·
Registered
241 Posts
I like Remington Golden Sabers, I have them in my 9mm,40sw and 357. Seems to be a well thought out bullet with a good amount of power behind it.

·
Former Tough Guy
117 Posts
I use Speer Gold Dot 124's in my Springfield XD

·
Drunk Supernova
6,002 Posts
For the most part, any top end commercial hollow-point 9mm "should" remain within a person given a solid COM hit.

They are designed to penetrate between 10-14 inches and expand. This transfers all of the bullet's energy into the target, and via the expansion, cause a larger permanent wound channel.