National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what is the minimum amount of equipment I will need to start reloading? I am thinking that I would be apt for it as I hear it is tedious and has repetitive motion. I have always found some sort of zen in things like that. I am not particularly concerned with saving money right away. If I come out ahead eventually, that is great. I am just new to this concept and I want to make sure that I can produce quality ammo for myself without any kind of catastrophic failure. I like my fingers too much for that.

·
Registered
377 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Haha, wow. Ok, so getting a little more elaborate, what do I need?

·
Old School.
11,011 Posts
Frist get a manual or two. Lyman,Speers, or Modern Reloading by Richard Lee. They are a few of the ones out there, and the front part of the books have a lot of good info on getting started. Get back with us on about how much you want to spend to get up and going. Figure about $100 for your primers,powder, and bullets the frist time around. We will be standing by. Good luck.:thumbsup:

·
Dong Tam, RSVN '69/'70
3,428 Posts
If you order Modern Reloading by Richard Lee from the Lee website they will send you a single stage press for free.

After my last order from Lee I got a letter telling me they had some factory second stuff available. All the stuff was mechanically perfect and guaranteed but there were cosmetic mistakes (scratches, bare spots, and runs in the paint). Long story short, I got a 4 position turret press (with one turret and both primer sets) for $68 and I bought 4 extra turrets for $7 each.

Don

S

·
0 Posts
first determine your needs.....2-500 rds @ scession or 1-2k.

then look at your wallet.

compromise:)

i started reloading earlier this year and after crunching the numbers bought a lee classic turret press, dies for the calibers i shoot, extra turrets, scale, lee pro powder measure kit,