National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking into +P ammunition. (I have a Ruger PC Charger rated for +P.) I was surprised to see some fairly light grain weights - I had expected just more explosive force to drive a big chunk of lead. But I also noted the differences in velocities. Since I'm new to this, what factors should I consider in deciding which round to try? I'm looking at a defensive encounter, 15 to 25 yards.

·
Super Moderator
5,715 Posts
+P just means extra powder. Light weight projectiles in these cartridges will be propelled very very fast. Something traveling a very high rate of speeds (1400fps) sometimes will out preform a heavier projectile traveling fast (1100fps). Sometimes buying +P it does not meet up to other non +P ammunition. Read up on your ammunition watch some you tube vids on them and then decide if its for you.

Paul Harrel on you tube does and outstanding job on +P and standard ammunition, though he calls it Hyper ammo.

Not a big 9mm fan though I would stay in the range of 124gr for the 9mm or even 147gr for self defense. Speer, Remington, Winchester, Federal, and Magtech are all good. Though if you want tops for the speed and energy transfer then the 100% copper Underwood Lehigh ammunition is what to look for. This is from my experiences, others will have their own and will post up.

Reactions: gvaldeg1

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So, in terms of destructive power at point of impact .... a higher velocity with a lighter grain bullet would likely outperform a heaver grain with slower velocity??

·
Aim true !
10,550 Posts
There is a formula to help determine foot lbs of energy. Using stated velocity and bullet weight. A fast 115 grain at plus p. May not hit as hard as 147 grain at standard velocity. Look up the Paul Harre's video. He is very informative.

·
Super Moderator
5,715 Posts
Here is some of Paul's informative vids.....

Reactions: Coalcracker

·