National Gun Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am exactly what the title says. Total "newb," in other words, a newbie. I'm also an artist, writer, script writer, and movie maker that really likes incorporating guns into their work. You guys probably hate on my kind of people, LOL. I have come here to learn more about how guns work, their terminology, and how to use one. But you've been warned. I am a legit newbie. I even bought a book online that was supposed to be written for people who know nothing about guns called: "The Gun Guide For People Who Know Nothing About Firearms" by Steven Gregersen. I read it all, and while it was very informative and enjoyable, it wasn't basic enough! I don't need a "Guns for Dummies" book. I need a "Guns for Idiots" book.

Now, I did NOT grow up heavily exposed to guns (my parents had some for self-defense, but I never shot them until I was in college). So therefore, I'm clueless. My uncles are gun-crazy, but I don't know them well enough to give them a phone call and ask my questions.

How I feel toward guns? Guns actually make me a bit nervous since I've not been taught about them. But all this aside, I do firmly believe we should all be able to own guns! Just because I'm into the liberal arts and movie-making doesn't mean I'm anti-gun, believe it or not, lol.

So here I am. Here to learn. I read the group rules, and I am worried that some of my questions might come across as "trolling," because some of my questions will be asking for specifics about hypothetical scenarios. And since I know nothing about guns, I may or may not phrase my questions right. I'm not trolling. I'm honestly just here to learn. And I'm gun-stupid so it will sound probably stupid--although I promise that I will try my best to do my own research prior to posting any of these questions.