National Gun Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm very new here, as you can see. I'm a novice when it comes to firearms in general and I'll only use them for target practice. I can't use real firearms where I live so I use airsoft guns, but they have some pretty darn good, realistic airsoft weapons these days. I'm using the CZ SP-01 Shadow. I hope you'll have some insight (heh :p) either way regarding my question.

Anyway, I've been looking at videos regarding how to shoot safely and accurately and having both eyes open seems to be the way to do it.

My issue is that I have some (relatively uncommon, I think) issues with my eyesight. Last time when I went to the optometrist they said my eyes aren't perfectly coordinated with each other. He'd show an image (one image) of something that I had to focus on. I saw two and half images though, one very clearly to the right and one blurry to the left. He said that it's not alarming, they do still coordinate and as such, it's not something I notice very much in general.

Anyway, when it comes to shooting, when I focus on the front sight, I see it in double, and perhaps more importantly, the object I'm aiming at as well.

It could be that this is the exact issue everyone has when trying to learn how to shoot with two eyes open, but since I have this issue, I figured I'd check over here.

So, what do you guys think? Normal or not? Possible solutions if not?

·
Registered
14,361 Posts
I have the same problem. I'm right handed so when shooting a long gun i close my left eye and use the right eye to aim. when using a handgun i can use either eye to aim and close the other but i cannot shoot with both eyes open. I also see more than one sight and object I'm aiming at. Just aim and shoot however you can get a clear picture. Also the rear sight should be slightly fuzzy along with the target but the front sight should be clear as that's what you focus on.

·
Registered
2 Posts