National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to ARs so don’t judge. But how do some people have optics and iron sights on their ARs at the same time? Wouldn’t that obscure sight picture from the optic with the iron sight? Look at the picture below his Irons and optic are on the same sight plane???

·
Registered
3,076 Posts
Look up co-witness

·
Registered
2,917 Posts
That look like a red dot which just shows a illuminated dot when turned on to aim with. When it's off it's just like looking through a straight tube so you can use sights if lined up with the tube.

·
Registered
13,474 Posts
Speaking of which, my upper came with BUS. My red dot was advertised as being lower 1/3. I couldn't see the BUS. So I bought another rider from Amazon I got today. Now if my red dot goes out, I can use the BUS.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I really like the Sig Romeo 7. Does anyone know if this is 1/3 or absolute co witness with A2 height sights?

·
Registered
688 Posts
BUS might be important, if you are a long long way from home. If my optic goes out, I just go to the house, and get another rifle.

·
Premium Member
5,638 Posts
I have a variable tactical scope on my AR. I also have the A2 front sight and it can’t be seen in the scope. I took off my pop up rear sight and I even have a carry handle already sighted in ready to be put on. I know I’m not going into battle. I shoot ground hogs and fox/coyotes and wouldn’t need those CCB sights for the most part, ever again. I’m not going to march against some enemy invader.

·
Registered
526 Posts
The only stupid question is the unasked question the way I see it. I myself also learned from this thread.

·
Super Moderator
11,198 Posts
I got rollover BUIS. If the battery goes on the red dot, I just tilt the rifle 1/4 turn and I have sights again. Eliminates the need to remove the red dot in the middle of shooting. Kinda nice, actually.

--Wag--

Reactions: fixitfred

·