National Gun Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, newbie here,
I asked a question in my intro thread, but figured it'd be easier here.

I was wondering about some side by side shotguns.
Wondering what were some good makers, and how much do they typically run $$ - new and used(for the double trigger type too).

thanks

G

·
Welcome to the Forum.
There are a host of good side by sides, just have to sort them out by price. Some run into the thousands.
Stevens made a good one. Thousands of side by sides were sold by Sears under the J C Higgins name. By and large they are going by the wayside in favor of the over and under which is a lot easier to shoot and doesn't feel so unwieldy. I learned to shoot birds with a Parker Brothers 20 guage, then got a Stevens 16 guage, have my dads L C Smith 16. No way I'd go back to shooting a SxS. I never shot an O/U except for clays. Autoloaders are so reliable and you have that third round for migratory birds or up to five for quail. The three SxS I have are just collectors.

·
Pro Gun Advocate
10,940 Posts
One of my brothers has my dad's old Stevens SxS 12 gauge.

The other brother got my older brother's .410/.22 over/under.

·
Pro Gun Advocate
10,940 Posts
Mecha-G said:
How 'bout one of these? I've been wanting one for some time.
Stoeger Coach Gun 12 gauge
around $350.00 - $400.00

CDNN just had those on sale for $200, used, very good condition. And shipping is only $9.99, no matter what/how much you buy.

They're good guys, might be worth a call to see if they'll extend the price to you.

·
Right Wing Zealot
1,228 Posts

I have a Stoeger Coachgun also. Highly recommend you get one.

G

·
I've got a Stoeger Uplander SxS in 12 gauge. Actually bought it for my gf :lol: She and I both love it :) They're good guns for the price.

G

·
Thanks Glock27Bill, good lookin' out
but... times are mighty tight for me right
now. :cry:

I think my main focus for the foreseeable