National Gun Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I've just mounted a scope on my Remington 700 SPS Tactical--it's my first time mounting a scope and I just feel like it's a little off.

I used a few techniques to get it aligned.

1. Using two levelers, one on top of the scope and the other inside the chamber
  2. Looking through the scope and lining up with a door frame
  3. Looking through the scope and aligning it with the center of the rifle where the action is
  4. Looking through the scope and aligning it with the center of the stock

Using 2 & 3 I can technically get the cross hairs straight up and down, but when I pick it up and look through the scope in various shooting stances, even prone, there seems to be a very slight cant NNW to SSE.

Using 1 & 4 I've noticed when the rifle is somewhat level with the ground the cant is NNE to SSW, but when I pick it up it looks closer to center.

I was wondering if any would give me some guidance on this?

Am I being a perfectionist? I do have another Remington that has a scope mounted, but that was done by Remington, and sometimes I think that that scope is off too.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I guess it's ok - I've seen many images of views through the scope with the rifle close to be level, looking down range, and they don't all seems to be exact or perfect.

·
Registered
1,934 Posts
It should be level when you are looking through it in your normal shooting stance (or it will nag at you, as shown above). Many people hold their rifles slightly canted when they fire. If it is only off by a couple degrees, it won't make much practical difference at normal ranges.

·
Grand Imperial Poobah
23,208 Posts
I bet you are using the old-style rings. Which is okay, if that is what you really want.

I would have suggested a one-piece scope mount, like the DNZ Game Reaper ......

Rem.%20700%20LA.jpg