National Gun Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks, I'm a newbie here and I have been scouring the internet for some ideas. This forum seems to be the most knowledgeable from what I can tell so hopefully someone can be so kind to point me in the right direction. I have recently acquired a Remington 760 Gamemaster 30-06. An older fellow is selling all his guns so this came up and since its brand new in the box and never been fired it was to irresistible to pass up even though its an older gun. I left hunting about 15 years ago, been busy with family so my 13 year old son wants to get into it so here I am. I have shot high powered rifle years ago (30-06, win mag 338) so this isn't my first rodeo but those guns were a lot bigger than this thing so this is new to me. Looking to mount a scope but being so compact of a rifle wouldn't mind getting some suggestions. Looking for some decent eye relief but don't want to break the bank(under $150). Will probably be shooting deer or moose in Northwestern Ontario no more then 200 yards (I'm not that good). From what can see an economical setup would be weaver 1 piece mount (#62) some decent rings and maybe a bushnell or nikon 3x9x40? Also thinking a fixed scope for better eye relief. If anyone has owned this gun or still owns this gun and has a scope I would love to hear your setup. Just fishing for some ideas from some experienced shooters. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
7,213 Posts