National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

I'm new to revolvers. I own a Glock G17, SIG P210, ... but I don't have a revolver. While working on the farm I have to protect cattle, gates, shoot sick animals and stuff. And I though a revolver is handy to have due to its reliability, accuracy and ready-to-shoot-mode. So I ask you guys: which caliber do you recommend? I don't need to have a revolver that has a destructive recoil....

·
Registered
7,193 Posts
I would recommend a good .357 magnum. It has good stopping power, you can shoot .38 and .38 +P rounds if you don`t need the full .357 mag round. It will put down a sick cow, take out a coyote, and most anything around a farm. You can get snakeshot for anything that slithers. It is not uncomfortable to shoot and and is really a versitile round. And several manufacturers are making good lever action carbines in the .357. As for make, I`m partial to Ruger or S&W. Ruger makes a sweet SP101 with a 4 inch barrel that is a great outdoor carry weapon. And it is darn near indestructable. Smith and Wesson make one , a 586 model with a 4 inch barrel as well. The S&W is a little more pricey and I`m really a Ruger fan. There are some offered that are cheaper in price by other manufacturers and would probaly suffice for a good farm gun. Look around and check out different ones. That is my recommendation. Good luck. Maybe try to find a used one also as I don`t know what your budget is.

·
Registered
6,525 Posts
The most valuable firearm we had on the farm growing up to do all those chores you mentioned was a .22 rifle.......from coyotes, to stray dogs to rabid skunks to the regretable "coup de gras" on a downed cow.........

to go with something similar in a handgun, then i would say a single action revolver with dual cylinders in .22 LR and .22 mag. The .22 mag would be my choice to make up for the velocity loss.