National Gun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a .45acp what will the savings be if I do reloading? I have never done this before.

·
Old School.
11,011 Posts
Let's put it this way. At the range I go to a box of .45acp's cost $24.50 and I can reload that same 50rds for $5.50 using range brass. Buy good stuff and it will last a life time and be paid for in couple of years if you shoot much. Good luck. :biggrin5:

·
Harley Dude
14,651 Posts
I second "Baldys" comments. I always figured if I can use my old brass its about $6 a box. Now at current powder, bullet and primer pricing that might be a little higher.

The 45 acp is a low pressure round and if you load target light loads the brass will last for many years of normal shooting.

·
Registered
5,538 Posts
I started reloading about 5-6 months ago, from the advice of members on the Handgunforum.net forum. I reload mostly .45 ACP and it as about 1/3 - 1/4 the cost of store bought ammo. Plus, it is enjoyable and relaxing.

·
Harley Dude
14,651 Posts
I started reloading about 5-6 months ago, from the advice of members on the Handgunforum.net forum. I reload mostly .45 ACP and it as about 1/3 - 1/4 the cost of store bought ammo. Plus, it is enjoyable and relaxing.

Yep, I agree. Always call it stress therapy!

·
Registered
5,538 Posts
Sure beats arguing with the lady

·
Registered
55 Posts
It is enjoyable and I also find it relaxing . . . .

Rod

·
Premium Member
15,424 Posts
All of the above, but honestly, if a shooter only goes through 4-5 boxes of ammo per year, the initial investment won't be recouped for quite a while. It's best to either find someone who will help you out or go ahead and get into reloading for the fun and relaxation.