National Gun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! First off let me say I am not a firearm expert by any means. I have been slowly getting into it as a hobby and because I want to protect myself and my family.

I am considering purchasing either a Springfield scout/socom16 or a Ruger scout. I want something in .308 win/ 7.62 as I already have a custom built Ar in 556 that my police officer friend helped me put together.

What I want to know is does anyone have experience with either brands scout rifles or does anyone have a better option that maybe I should consider? Any good suggestions information would be helpful in that decision making process. I watched some videos on YouTube but still think I need some advice

·
Registered
541 Posts
I strongly urge you to avoid any .308 rifle with an under 18” barrel. It will be an earsplitting unpleasant experience.

“Scout rifle” has come to be a fairly broad rubric but was originally a very specific design specified by Jeff Cooper and a study group that further developed the concept. If you want one very close to that design, the Ruger Gunsite Scout is pretty close (just a bit heavier I believe). The Steyr Scout is, I believe, built exactly to spec but is pretty pricey as I recall.

If it’s a handy .308 rifle in general that you are after, hard to beat the Ruger American Ranch rifle in .308. Conventionally scoped, it’s not a Scout rifle but is handy, robust, and economical. I have no experience myself with the Mossberg MVP series (they also do a “Scout” - but that 16” barrel - ouch!) but the Thunder Ranch 20” .308 looks quite handy and is priced right. Finally, while never a contender in the looks department, it has become almost impossible to find any other criticism of Savage. They do a 20” “Scout” in .308 ( and in .450 BM, which is interesting but much less versatile) that will undoubtedly be good value for money.