National Gun Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, new to the forum sorry if this is the wrong place to post but I have a Ruger p85 with major jamming issues. Got it used of a buddy with jamming problems and it was filthy. I cleaned it all up, made sure the recoil spring was in the correct direction. Mag springs feel pretty strong although I’m no expert. Basically it’s like it’s not ejecting the spent shell quick enough and it comes half way out by the time it attempts to load the next round so the jam together if that makes sense. I can get some images after work today. Was shooting good quality ammo from my local dealer aswell.

·
Live Free
2,762 Posts
I would be suspect of the ejector and or spring too. Not sure if I could offer a good explanation here, best bet might be Ruger’s exceptional warranty. There are some instructions available on line, but not much regarding the ejector on that model.

The ejector pushes on the empty case as the slide reaches the end or its rear travel. You should be able to lock the slide back and see if it is moving and has good spring tension. It has to push the case and basically slap it loose while it pivots on the extractor, thus it clears the action as the slide begins to move forward again picking up the next round. Weak spring tension, or damaged/foiled ejector will not allow the ejector to get enough force to push the case clear enough and it will ride forward and jam against the next cartridge. Again, this might be a good reason to send it back to Ruger who will be easily able to fix it, but it might be a bit of a job for one who is not proficient in such repairs.

·
Registered
5,980 Posts
make sure the recoil spring is installed correctly as the ends of the spring are two different sizes.....slide the small end onto the rod first....the larger end of the spring towards the muzzle.....it can make a difference.

use decent ammo.....preferably 124 gr weight.