National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am very new to firearms. I have fired a couple of pistols (.22, .357 both revolvers) in my youth, which was more than 30 yrs ago.
My wife and I want to buy a handgun or handguns for self defense.
We are both left handed.

Would it make more sense for us to keep things simple with a revolver (or revolvers) rather than having two inexperienced left-handed shooters fumbling around with a more complicated ACP style weapon?

Or since we are new to this, should we just learn how to shoot right-handed?

Thank you for your advice and consideration.

·
RELOAD=More PEW PEW
12,521 Posts
That's exactly what I did (learn to shoot right hand) not the easiest way mind you but i'm glad I did cause now I can shoot great with both hands and I think it's a plus.
My first handgun was a Sig Sauer P226 9mm I really fell in love with it and I just had to shoot it the way it was designed to be shot (decocker and stuff) so I learned, shot thousands of rounds with my right hand (not in the same day loll)
If you're willing to learn and put effort into it you will get it. you shoot like sh** at first but you get better and better

EDIT: 50% is in the grip, watch videos learn how to have total control of your firearm it has to become the extension of your hand like if the barrel was your index, Dry fire a lot, learn how to acquire your sight on the target fast. Speed isn't important but it has to become muscle (eye) memory. squeezing the trigger is also crucial, learn how to press the trigger not jerk it

Reactions: Popeye

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
54,923 Posts
Greetings and Salutations

There's nothing wrong with revolvers.

·
Registered
3,568 Posts
Greetings and Welcome to the Forum

Since you brought it up let me ask since you are both left handed what is your master or dominant eye?

·
Registered
3,410 Posts