National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Pontiac Grand Prix
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the gun world but I've done a fair amount of research and I'm pretty set on getting a Smith & Wesson M&P 15-22 sport .22 LR. .22 ammo is cheap , and I won't be hunting w the gun just mostly target shooting so it should be a good gun to learn on. Everywhere I've looked online it's got great reviews and plenty talking about it's reliability and easy to use and fun to shoot.
  1. I've found a few good deals on different websites but I'm looking for any input on deals for one or anything related and helpful. Even a different cheap assault rifle if you think differently. Thanks -Ryan

·
Grand Imperial Poobah
23,179 Posts
Welcome from NC!

FYI, don't call any AR/AK semi-auto rifle an assault rifle. Calling it an assault rifle is an incorrect terminology and simply feeds the Democrat's anti-gun propaganda narrative.

Reactions: Marylou

·
Premium Member
6,730 Posts
I have one and it’s a good plinking gun. Not the tack driving , 100yard sure shot gun but it’s a good plinker. I’d rather you bought a Ruger 10/22. Marlin makes several great .22’s. The M&P is ok but you’ll just burn up lots of ammo and in the end you won’t be satisfied with it.

·
Super Moderator
5,804 Posts
Welcome to The National Gun Forum!

·
Live Free
3,259 Posts
Ditto Mad Scientist, it is not an assault rifle. It is a reasonably good .22, but like Stamps suggested, you might be better served by another semi-auto .22, unless the AR look is what you really want...and it sounds like it is.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Plinking/target....Ruger Mark series. Used Mark II, III's a good buy and the IV's outstanding, but not inexpensive.

·
Registered
2005 Pontiac Grand Prix
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #8