National Gun Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First off I’m open to your suggestions. These are only ideas that I have come up with thus far as a starting point. I’m new to all of this and needed somewhere to start from.

Situation:I have an opportunity to go Moose hunting for my first time this November in Quebec. I don’t currently own a rifle only handguns and shotguns. I mostly hunt whitetail and don’t really hunt anything else, all though would like to get into other big game. I want to go with a 30-06 for it versatility and as it has many ammo choices for other game and ammo is relatively cheap. I am looking to spend some where @ $1,000 for the complete set-up to include scope, mounts, and accessories. The land I will be hunting on is 10,000 acres private, mostly flat except a few small hills, and varies with wood density, marsh, fields, etc. I don’t think I will need to reach out more than 250 yards. I would like to pass this down to my son. I have to try to keep this as simple as possible as I tend to get drawn out with details. I have seen combo units at big stores but not too keen on the scope. I am willing to pay more for the scope than the rifle itself. The rifle can be new or used don’t care.

Rifle: I would prefer a bolt action for its accuracy and reliability. I do consider myself to be a pretty good shot and don’t see myself relying on a quick semi-auto, as I feel First shot placement is key. However, not against a semi-auto if it is solid. I’m also not sure on the make/model/combo or other details of the rifle choice. That is where I need your help. Also what ammo/grain size would you recommend for Moose with what info I provided you?