National Gun Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So yeah..., I'm new here.

I joined this forum in hopes of learning more about American gun culture before I buy my first gun for my 21st birthday (it's coming in 6 months or so!). I was born in Malaysia, and in Malaysia, if you are caught with a firearm, you are hung till dead.

So you see my problem here. I wasn't raised around guns. There just is no gun culture in Malaysia. My parents, father especially, is extremely nervous about me buying a gun. In fact, he previously flipped out on me when I said I wanted to buy a gun in America.

I'm a student currently studying in the USA, and I am a big martial arts enthusiast. It might have been fine in Malaysia to stay ignorant about guns, but I figured that in America, and in a state where most people have guns especially, I better learn about and master this incredible weapon.

Recently found out that it's legal for me to buy guns in this state (Indiana), so I'll get one. Problem is, not being raised around guns, I share some of my father's anxiety in buying one. Certainly, I don't wish to shoot myself in the foot, both figuratively and literally.

My previous experience with firearms are limited. I spent a few years in Singapore studying, and I joined the school's air rifle team there. Got decent at it, and was in the team sent for the national tournament. Didn't do so well in tournament though...

After that, I got to shoot guns here and there. First real firearm I shot was a Glock 19. After that, I shot a few .22 LRs here and there, and a few .22 Berettas. That's about it. I'm basically trying to make the transition from air powered guns to real steel guns.

I want a gun that's mainly for the range. Self defense and all that isn't as important..., and I don't really plan to carry it around.

Been looking at the Springfield XDMs, a few Glocks, and perhaps a Beretta Cx4 Storm. Don't know what yet..., but that's what I'm here to learn!

·