National Gun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Drunk Supernova
6,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One thing I have always been a strong believer in (and I am not trying to take credit, but I have never heard of anyone speak of this before).

Incentive based firearms training.

Instead of being required (like some politicians have suggested) to take safety courses, or to purchase a firearm. Offer an incentive based class.

Please forgive me because I am still working out the rough portions of it. But in basics.

For simplicity we will label this within four groups (and as I am no expert, I will leave this up to firearms experts to state who and what classes fall within these bounds).

Group one = highly trained individuals.

Group two = moderately trained individuals.

Group three = Low trained individuals.

Group four = untrained individuals.

If you are able to provide a certificate stating that you fall within group one, then you pay no tax on your firearm purchase, and you are not required to attend a CCW class and pay no fee for receiving your CCW from the local LEO. The cost of your CCW class would be removed because that would have already been covered in your group one training. Additionally, you would receive a reduced tax on ammo purchased for such and such amount of time, and once you prove continuing training this extends.

If you are able to provide a certificate stating that you fall within group two, then you pay normal tax on your firearm purchase, and pay a reduced cost for your CCW class and pay a reduced cost in acquiring your CCW. Ammo taxes would remain the same (within a given amount of time).

Group three. You pay normal tax on your firearm purchase. A reduced cost for your CCW class (though slightly higher than group two). and Ammo taxes remain the same as now (once again within a given amount of time, but less time than group two or one).