National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I was wondering if anyone has any tips or sources they could give me on how to re paint or re blu a mosin nagant. Ive never done anything like this to any gun before so any infromation will be helpfull. So far I have cut the barrel installed an ATI bolt handle and stuck the Barrel and action in a new thumhole stock I got from boyds. Im new at the amature gun smithing stuff so if you have any additional knowledge send it my way.

·
Registered
8,092 Posts
Brownells has the BEST in my humble opinion aresol gun bake on gun finish. Be sure to follow the directions to the letter. If you improvise or get lazy the rifle will look like crap. I recently did a custom .219 Donaldson wasp with the semi gloss black spray. I couldn't be happier with the results. I have been rescueing and building custom guns for about 40 yrs. Always in the past I did the Hot Salts Blue finish. This aresol is faster, cheaper, tougher, and looks great. The donaldson pictures are listed on rifle pictures by Dianne for me. Any flaws in the finish are my fault.

·
Banned
632 Posts
WHY?? Why would anyone want to 'sporterize' a piece of history like that? Anything you do to change the looks of it will do NOTHING to improve accuracy. I've bought dozens of these fine rifles and could not imagine doing anything to alter them in any way other than a good cleaning. If you want a Mosin with a scope then buy a PU or a PE sniper. You made a beautiful piece of history into a worthless piece of junk....shame.

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
55,084 Posts
His rifle, his choice.

Besides, millions and millions of 91/30s were made. Anyone changing theirs from original helps make your original worth more.

·
Banned
632 Posts
His rifle, his choice.

Besides, millions and millions of 91/30 were made. Anyone changing theirs from original helps make your original worth more.