National Gun Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there guys I'm a complete noob on the forum so pls fogive me. I own a 4th model smith and wesson in 38s&w. I would like to know if it is at all possible for me to use moon clips. It is a 5 shot revolver so would that be another complication?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The .38 S&W round is a rimmed cartridge and, as such, does not need a moon clip.

I know of no revolver chambered for .38 S&W having a cylinder milled to accept moon clips.
thank you soo much I figured not but always best to ask

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
Speed loaders is what you are looking for I got a 9 shot revolver they are awesome for. And looking at one for a 7 shot

·
Banned
7 Posts
You can have your revolver cylinder cut to accept moonclips. I send my guns to TK Custom but there are a couple of other places that can help you too.

·
Registered
873 Posts
You can have your revolver cylinder cut to accept moonclips. I send my guns to TK Custom but there are a couple of other places that can help you too.
Correct---but it's going to get expensive, and putting that kind of money into a hundred+ year old topbreak revolver might not be the best use of funds. In addition to the
cylinder cutting, the moonclips will be a custom proposition, and I'm guessing they will run $7-$8 per. I've got a nice post-war Webley MkIV-38 that I've eyeballed a few
times along those lines. Someday I might try to find a spare cylinder and machine it, hasn't happened yet. Moonclip revolvers are a hoot, I have a S&W 625 5" 45 ACP and a
8 shot S&W 627 357 mag that I run moonclipped 38 Short Colt in, plus a Second model Hand Ejector Smith that was originally 455 that has had the cylinder shaved.

·
Registered
7,831 Posts
Because it can.

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
53,706 Posts
Why does a dog lick it's balls?