National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a 26 year-old that goes to college and works part time at a job. I just picked up my CCW license today. I am looking for a cheap gun, that is small (I am only 5'5 and small in stature). I would like a gun without much kick and that is somewhat cheap and easy to conceal.

All I really know about is rifles and bigger guns I am completely new to using handguns. Thanks for all your help.

Chase

·
Registered
Navy Vet
2,881 Posts
To cover all of your needs you might want to research on line, or in person at a gun shop, a Ruger LCP .380.

·
Grand Imperial Poobah
23,457 Posts
If you are that new to using handguns, you really should take an NRA approved safety class, if you haven't already taken one. Gun ownership is a huge responsibility and safety is the utmost importance.

Also conceal carrying legally is very important. You say you attend college are concealed handguns allowed on college campuses in your state? Do you live on campus? Can you secure a handgun, so others don't gain unauthorized access?

Before you run out and purchase a handgun, you should be able to properly use one, hence the NRA safety class ..... but you should try shooting the firearm to see if you can properly handle the size, functionality and recoil of the handgun you want ...... going to a local shooting range and renting a few firearms would be a good start. The shooting range should have a Ruger LCP and Bersa Thunder 380, for you to try. You may also be interested in a Sig P238 or P938.

It is difficult of the members here to say what handgun would be good for you or not good for you. Only you can determine that. But a shooting range should be able to find a handgun suitable for your tastes.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·