Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Safety On
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
New to the forum but I've done some extensive browsing on the subject.

Looking for a .243 AR-15. While it won't be the primary purpose I've chosen the cartridge size with the hopes of using it for deer hunting.

I'm new to AR's so where do I start? Is it best to build custom? What brands to avoid? I'd like to put together a rifle for around $575-$775 (ammo is f'n expensive post build).

Sorry if I'm in the wrong place, found a few .243 threads on here but they're outdated or are a bit too lingo'd up for me. I'm new to guns (loaded my first gun about a year ago although I've shot throughout childhood with dramatic assistance).

I dig the AR concept given the low-recoil, high magazine size, and reasonable pricing.

·
Safety On
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh I should mention I shot a Del Ton .556 the other day and loved it. First time ever shooting an AR and I managed a 7 inch spread on 15 rounds at 75 feet. My mind was blown by the simplicity and accuracy.

·
Registered
6,297 Posts
A 243 is going to be on the AR10 platform and weigh in the neighborhood of 9-11lbs.Your budget of $575-$775 isn't going to touch a AR10 anything unfortunately.I understand want and needs,, but I believe a bolt gun would serve you much better than the AR10 vs money/weight/accuracy.
A 7" spread is terrible at 75 feet.

·
Registered
1,934 Posts
DPMS makes (I assume they still do) an AR in .243 and .260. MSRP is about 1250. 260H - 243H

Rock River Arms used to make a .243 upper on their LAR-8 platform (AR-10), no idea on price.

Armalite's .243 upper is pushing $800... AR-10 A4 RIFLE COMPLETE .243 UPPER HALF, BLACK

Dtech sells a .243 WSSM upper for a grand... Dtech Custom AR-15 WSSM Upper Recievers - D-Tech - Custom AR-15 Upper Receivers plus a couple other 6mm rounds, not .243 Win, however.