National Gun Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I currently have a stock from a K98k and I was wondering if there is a possible way to rebuild it to function.

Sorry, I am new to the "building" of guns.

I would greatly appreciate it if I knew it is possible to buy the parts of the gun and where.

·
Old School.
11,011 Posts
Take a bunch of pictures as you build it and keep us in the loop. They are a very neat old rifle that is as good today as the day they were made. Good luck. :4:

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Okay the person who sold me this told me that it uses a 8mm Large Ring Action. Does anyone have a direct link to this? Help!

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
55,659 Posts
The Mauser Model 1898, quite possibly the best bolt action rifle ever designed, is a large ring mauser.

You might try reading some of the articles and posts at http://www.mausercentral.com

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The Mauser Model 1898, quite possibly the best bolt action rifle ever designed, is a large ring mauser.

You might try reading some of the articles and posts at http://www.mausercentral.com
Alright thanks!

Is it the same thing as the ZF41? If you are familiar with it? It's the sniper version. I mean aside from the scope, are there any other differences in it?

·
Registered
3,633 Posts
The ZF41 had a turned down bolt to clear the scope. Rifles made for this purpose were more carefully produced. That is about it.

My first reaction is to tell you go to a gun show and find one with a cheezed out stock and just swap it. When building a rifle you need to remember one thing when doing these. You will end up spending more money on it that if you bought one outright.

Be careful when selecting your receiver. Turk receivers are good and they are plentiful. But they were threaded to use the small ring barrels. If you can find one a VZ24 or any of the BRUNO actions are the best.