National Gun Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new in the Austin metro area for business opportunity. I'm from Montana. I'm doubtful there will be the same kind of fishing I'm accustomed to in Montana and Idaho. Salmon, steelhead and trout from very clean-n-pristine rivers. I don't eat bass. Catfish tastes muddy to me. Drum, marlin and shark, no thanks. Seafood from the Gulf of Mexico...not! Thinking about that Gulf oil spill from BP a spell ago gives me the shivers. Most likely I will have to go on a special vacation to those northern higher mountain states to get the catch I want. I will just stick to boating with my dogs and huntin' if I don't discover yummy fish I can catch in these warmer parts of America. I believe the closest state with clean-river mountain salmonid fishing is Colorado.

·
Registered
715 Posts
Howdy. I'm about an hour, depending on traffic, to your north by Ft Hood. Fishing is great. If you had cat fish that tastes muddy, you need to try some by folks that know how to clean them. I don't eat bass either. But I do fish for them. If I want eatin fish, I fish for Bluegill or Crappie. Kind of like the white perch up north. Very mild, flaky meat if you don't freeze them.
No Salmon but at times in the winter they do release some Trout in different places around Texas. Check the Texas Parks and Wildlife website for places and dates. They usually don't last long though. The Guadalupe River below Canyon Lake Dam has them all year. Special regulations apply though.
Good luck.
Oh yeah, a lot of your Salmon lures, like the Lure Jenson crank baits and such, work just fine for bass. Don't give them up.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

·
Banned
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3