National Gun Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The stat's they're showing y'all ain't no joke, and ain't a good thing for us as a whole...kind'a sad...

·
Harley Dude
14,651 Posts
I agree it is very sad!

But it is a cycle that repeats itself about every ten years. Real estate market picks up and starts to run, lenders offer up cheap money, lenders start to put up money at the end of the cycle for higher and higher risk loans to increase their fee income. At the end of the cycle they are making ARM 100%+ loans to people that have no business buying houses with the income they earn and the credit ratings that they have. So the house of cards collapses and the market goes flat for a few years. Then it starts all over again and repeats the same pattern.

The first cycle I went through I was an officer in a Real Estate Trust in the 1970's. We borrowed money from the banks and then loaned it out for construction projects at a higher rate. The whole game collapsed at the end of the 1970's and the bankruptcies and foreclosures were nasty. This was in Florida.

Same thing happened in the early 1990's in California. Foreclosures all over the place when interest rates went through the roof! That cycle cost me a good 100K!

If you are cash rich at the end of the cycle you can pick up some bargains and become very wealthy when you ride up the next price increase. This RE cycle usually runs at opposition to a similar cycle in the stock market. If both the RE and Stock Market cycles collapse at the same time you have a situation that can turn into a full blown depression!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·