National Gun Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, there she is. Tarnished up pretty good. I don’t know how long she was sitting on the display rack but I’ve been buying in this store for 6 months so it’s been at least that long. I’m gonna sit down tonight, disassemble it and give her a good well deserved polish. It’s a shame to see such a beautiful piece neglected like this. She has 2 very tiny dings on the very bottom of the buttstock. I otherwise see no scratches or scrapes. The tarnish and the 2 tiny dings saved me about $160 after tax.

71269212-02C6-40EF-AAE3-9273F95C0A32.jpeg

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Little brother donated 34 rounds of Hornady HP’s he had laying around. He no longer has his Super Blackhawk. So I’ll be feeding her tomorrow. I’m sure she’s starving.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Ok, she’s beautimous again. 6-8 passes with mag polish to get all that out. The tarnish ran deeper than I thought, actually pitted it just slightly. I got it though. Can’t be felt just a slight haze in a couple spots that will come out the next time I break it down. Got all except where the barrel meets the receiver. I missed it. I’ll deal with it tomorrow. I’m all polished out for tonight. Spent a few hours on it. Got it oiled up and ready for some fun. The next pics are closeups of the before and after.

8A711CF6-8090-468B-9034-53309D081DEA.jpeg
6FC3F649-D07D-4A4B-93C8-5DB9DB062286.jpeg

4CF84C19-BEEC-4EF2-B91F-1FF05522D984.jpeg
D2BA2D26-A8E2-4910-A044-86F06240944D.jpeg

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Can’t complain. Figure I made $50/hr at my desk with a polishing cloth.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #7