National Gun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year deer hunting and Im looking for a shotgun. I dont know much about buying one besides the basics on shotguns and what feels the best. I considered buying a barrel for my Benelli, however, it costs just as much as it would to buy an entire gun. Does anyone have a recommendation for a price range between 300-500 dollars?

·
Texas Legal Gunslinger
3,531 Posts
You can find some pretty decent deer rifles in that price range. However, optics will be more of an issue. Will you be shooting iron sights, or will you be looking for optics?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Since its a first time deal, I wouldnt mind using iron sights. If I weren't pleased with them, then I would worry about a scope later.

·
Registered
5,538 Posts
Go to Maoobergs web site and check out the model 500.

·
Texas Legal Gunslinger
3,531 Posts
Ooppsss! Missed the fact that this is in the shotgun thread. Can't really help you there, but if you're looking for a rifle, I can give you some advice. (How much remains to be seen, but some, none-the-less)

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
Shotguns for deer

Ive got an 870 Remington Pump 12 gauge with a two and 3 quarter inch chamber. I've had it over 30 years. It has been through snow, torrential rains, and extreme tempertures. When using buckshot I use the original smooth bore barrel with a modified choke, with top brand high brass buckshot loads (not necasssarily the hottest loads available, just standard high brass) with 12 or 15 pellets if I can find them. I find that works okay up to about 45 yards.