National Gun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I mean besides looking the part,wat do they do? Ive put two full mags thru my 870x No glowing barrel,no warping,warm but not Bad So wat do they do? ;)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Mainly they do nothing but look stupid. They do add some weight if the recoil of your shotgun bothers you. I have shot many, many rounds through my totally stock 870 with nary a burn.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am no expert- but I read recently (on olive-drab.com?) that the addition of the heat shield and a bayonet mounting lug was made in WWI- to allow the gun to be used in hand to hand combat without having to grip an over-heated barrel. In this configuration they were termed "trench guns". Later, when the army reverted to issuing shotguns without bayonet mounts and heat shields- those models were referred to as "riot guns" to denote the difference between models.

·
Beretta 92 Fanatic
547 Posts
Hey, we all have our own opinion.

I used to have a Winchester 1300 18" shotgun with a holding stock, heat shield, sidesaddle with extra rounds, sling, and a pressure switched flashlight. Thing looked awesome :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #12 ·

to me the plain one looks better. and im nto into folding or pistol grip stocks. they screw up the ergos of the rifle.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
leeindy said:

to me the plain one looks better. and im nto into folding or pistol grip stocks. they screw up the ergos of the rifle.
So the bottom ones a Rem eh? I,ll take it!!! ;)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Heat sheild- a ventilated steel or plastic hand guard over the barrel to reduce the danger that a soldier will burn his hand on the hot barrel during rapid fire.
I have burned myself on my remmy without heat sheild, I was really wishing I had one.

·
Beretta 92 Fanatic
547 Posts