National Gun Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone. I'm New to owning Firearms. I've shot them before and have been trained to use them but as far as the lingo goes I'm pretty well lost. To get to the point, I am looking to buy a Low cost Reliable Handgun that carries a mighty punch. I basically want it to take to the Range on base and also for protection from Wildlife (Grizzly's, Black bear and Cougar) when i go camping. What are your suggestions for something in the $300-$400 range?

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
54,933 Posts
I grew up in the middle of the woods in Maine and in Virginia. By the middle of the woods, I mean, if we shot a .30-06 rifle in our front yard the neighbors couldn't hear it.

A bear will not bother you so long as you do nothing stupid. Study them and learn their habits.

If a big cat wants to get you, you will know nothing about it until you are got.

A handgun (any of them) is a pathetically underpowered weapon when compared to a long gun. I would expect no handgun to stop a large animal or even to give it much of a pause.

When I am in the woods I worry much more about thin skinned two legged varmints (people) than I worry about animals.

New handguns that fulfill your peramaters are

Charter Arms Bulldog, .44 Special
Armscorp 1911A1, .45 ACP

The used handgun market is full of weapons whos' calibers begin with a "4" (.41 Mag, .44 Special, .44 Mag, .45 ACP, .45 Colt, etc., etc.)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Haha, yea. Thanks though I'll Definitely check em out. Guess it is kind of ignorant to think I am going to stand a chance against one of those things, but still the gun would give me an illusion of security.

·
super noob
2,037 Posts
How cheep are we talking? Id say go with a big bullet that has alot of penetration, like a .44mag. IF thats not big enough the 454 casull or the 460. But none of them are cheep, unless you get lucky with a used peice.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·