National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I've asked some folks I know, and took this to a gun shop. I've been unable to get any positive identification does anyone happen to know what type of gun this is? Thanks in advance.

2019-07-09 (2).jpg 2019-07-09 (1).jpg 2019-07-09.jpg

·
Aim true !
11,302 Posts
A gun shop could not ID it? Im no expert. But i think its an M1 Garand.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No sir they couldn't. He threw out a couple of ideas, I didn't write them down though and the bolt design was a little bit different than what he had shown. I will try to post up some better pictures if that will help.

·
Registered
14,029 Posts
Can you take some close up pics of the receiver and bolt especially any markings. Almost looks like a Springfield but the pics are too small for me to really see much.

Reactions: Popeye and Win94ae

·
Aim true !
11,302 Posts
LOL no i was going by the stock shape and the front. I i didn't know Garands did not have a bolt.

Reactions: Northtidesix

·
Registered
8,370 Posts
Garands were, according to Gen G Patton,
“In my opinion, the M1 rifle is the greatest battle implement ever devised.”
That Mauser should have proof marks and a maker's name. You may have to rub some areas with white chalk to make them stand out. There WILL be proof marks indicating maker, etc.

·
Registered
8,370 Posts
Garand? Garand? Have you started drinking in the morning again?
Remember, "Beer, it's not just for breakfast any more"!!!!!!!

·
Banned
1,377 Posts
What you have is a Pre-World War II German K98 Standard-Modell Commercial Contract Bolt Action Rifle
download.png

download (1).png