National Gun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a new (it's "used", but looks like NIB, probably from a collector) FN HP. I'm beginning to really like that pistol. It's a little too small for my hands, but I'm getting used to it . It shoots fine and even though I prefer modern polymer guns, I like the classic look of the P35.

One problem for me though is the smallish safety lever. I'll attach a picture to show you what I mean. Most HPs I've seen so far had bigger and longer levers that you can easily reach with your thumb, but this one's uncomfortable. Now my question is whether I can mount an aftermarket safety lever or if that won't fit my HP? And can I do that myself (I'm not technically talented at all) or should a gun smith do it?

The other problem are the small sights. Same question, how easy is it to mount different (bigger) sights? And which ones would you recommend? I want something durable, they must not be adjustable, just simple combat sights.

I don't know exactly what model it is, but like mentioned above I'll attach a picture.

All help would be greatly appreciated :D

·
Registered
3,633 Posts
I can not tell from the picture, but does your pistol have an internal extractor? Claw like thingy that is inserted in the slide parallel to the firing pin? Or is it external, you can see it just to the rear of the ejection port? If you have a internal extractor, it is a classic P35 model. The internal extractors came out with the MkII series, if I am not mistaken. I am also betting that it is a Belgium HP, Fabrique National. The best ones IMHO. Inglis, Canadians are a close second.

The sights are classic military HP factory sights. Yes the are nasty. Once you get use to them, the work well. I use to make a couple of bucks at the range betting that I could make a head shot off hand at 100 yards with my HP. I can do it with a 1911 also, but people were't as impressed. :D