National Gun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really want to build an AR, but I've never done anything like this before. I know that some of you (leeindy) have done this a number of times and love it. I have no idea where to start though, so bring on the HELP! :---

some questions that I have: What kind of upper should I be looking at? Where should I get it? Should I get a complete kit that only needs a stripped lower, or should I go with an upper half that will need a few parts? Where can I afford to pinch pennies and where should I spare no expense (trying to get the most BANG for my buck)? Where can I get a lower, and which ones should I be looking at?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
whats your budget?

do you want a mil spec rifle?

i would find a lower first. essential arms isnt bad along with stag dpms thell all run about 120 bucks.

build your lower and buy an assembled upper.

dont skimp on the parts kit. the stocks not a big issue i use high standards brand.

parts kits i would go stag, dpms, RRA.

if you want a really good trigger get the RRA 2 stage.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd really like to spend somewhere around $600.

forgive me, but I don't even know what a milspec would be...

There are somany different configurations of uppers that I don't know what I should get...

p.s. Do the parts kit and the lower reciever need to be from the same manufacturer?

Are there different kinds of lower recievers?

How difficult is it to assemble the lower?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yeldarb said:
I'd really like to spend somewhere around $600.

forgive me, but I don't even know what a milspec would be...

There are somany different configurations of uppers that I don't know what I should get...

p.s. Do the parts kit and the lower reciever need to be from the same manufacturer?

Are there different kinds of lower recievers?

How difficult is it to assemble the lower?