National Gun Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
541 Posts
I am no expert, but I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and I do hunt.

What are you thinking of hunting? 30-06 is a powerful, do-all cartridge that is at its best with bullets from 150 grs - 200 grs but can be loaded to take any animal in North America. It is a good chambering, but potentially more than you need for just whitetails, for example, where the lower recoil 7mm-08 might be a better choice.

The 770 is not well-loved. I would encourage you to read a number of reviews, many of which do not have very much good to say about it. There are a number of well reviewed budget rifles available today that deliver excellent accuracy: Ruger American, Mossberg Patriot, T/C Compass, and Savage Axis among them. All of these are available new at $400 or less and while they are indeed budget rifles, they are all very suitable hunting rifles with established records of accuracy.

I would pass on a 770 because there are so many good alternatives available.

· Registered
1,656 Posts
The 770 is Remington's entry level rifle. Heavy, bulky, rough and ugly. But it works and generally shoots as well as most people.
A Savage Axis II or a Mossberg Patriot will give you a better rifle for about the same money. The Savage is a better overall rifle though.
If you want one for varmint or target, the AxisII Predator is a more than adequate budget gun. I had one in 6.5 Creedmoor that would shoot 1/2 MOA at 100 yards of the shelf.
Mostly, it depends on what you are going to do with it.
Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

· Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I was watching some reviews, and a lot of people talked about some issues with it, plastic tang, stiff action, cheap stock, etc. I know it isn't a quality gun per se, but I was wondering if it was at least worth that cheap price just for killing a deer reliably.

· Live Free
4,509 Posts