National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am brand new to this forum, I joined because I specifically wanted to ask this question. I am a Connecticut resident :mad2: however I currently live in Florida more most of the year. I am staying a ct resident for now for specific reasons I would rather not go into... Anyway I know I cannot buy a handgun legally in Florida as a non-res; however is it legal for me to buy in another state and bring to Florida to keep there as a CT res (if I have a FL and CT pistol permit)? Is it legal for a private sale to sell a pistol in FL to a non res? Another question I have is I would like to buy an AR style rifle to have in florida, ar style rifles are illegal in CT(we have something that is called the ct other...kinda an AR). As a CT resident can I legally buy a AR style rifle to keep at my place in FL? This gun would never see CT. I am just wondering if me as a CT res can have a gun in FL that would be illegal in CT? I know this might be an odd sanaro and as much as I despise many of the gun laws I wish to follow so I don't get in trouble.

·
Registered
36 Posts
I'm not saying this as an expert, but from what I've seen, if you can buy it in your home state, and it is legal to use and have in the other state you should be good. Again, I AM NOT A LEGAL EXPERT, NOR US THIS PROFFESIONAL ADVICE. Please consult your local laws to verify

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,115 Posts
a resident of one State can not directly transfer a handgun to a resident of a different State......federal law

transfer must be thru an ffl of the resident State of the buyer

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
I don't know what you are trying to do and why since you don't want to give out enough info. No you cannot legally do what I think you are trying to do.