National Gun Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am totally new to the world of guns. I am currently in the process of doing preliminary research on semi-automatic handguns, with the intention of purchasing one sometime in the not-too-distant future.

Today I went to a gun shop and talked to the owner for a while. She showed me several handguns: a Glock, a Smith & Wesson, a CZ, and a Beretta.

I'm not yet sure which of these I prefer. I do know two things: I want a gun with a safety, and I want something compact (i.e. not too big).

I'm wondering if people here might care to share their thoughts on which of these models they prefer, and why?

I'm also interested to hear about other brands, models, etc. I'm basically an information sponge at this point, interested in gathering as much knowledge as I can.

Thanks for any help/advice you care to share.

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
53,985 Posts
Glock's 'safety' is, at best, a drop safety. It does nothing to protect against inadvertent/negligent discharges.

Why do you want a compact handgun? Mass/weight is your friend as it helps absorb recoil.

·
Registered
729 Posts
The best safety is the one between your ears.
As long as it is a quality firearm, by the one that fits your hand, needs and budget the best. The better it fits your hand when held properly, the better you will shoot, the more comfortable it will be to shoot and the more you will want to shoot it. Therefore, the better you will get. One that doesn't fit you can be shot accurately, it just takes more practice.

There is no best maker or model. Only the best one for you. The only way to determine that is to shoot them. Try looking for a range that rents different models and styles and try the ones that really feels good in your hands. That is a good starting point. Or go to the range with friends and family that will let you try several models.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

·
Low Speed High Drag
399 Posts

·