National Gun Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the AK scene & I am trying to educate myself on what to look for. I have recieved a lot of advice on models to look for, such as SAR-1, SAR-2, SAR-3, etc...

All of the shops in my area sell the WASR 10, which I am told is a newer version of the old AK-47 design. They are all made in Romania & sell between $400 to $490 (depending on options). Do these prices sound too high for the WASR?

Does anyone think the WASR 10 is worth getting, or should I continue to look for the SAR models. I am kind of limited on price (below $500). Any help or knowledge is appreciated. Thanks

·
Just Some Dude...
1,142 Posts
I have a WASR-10

Believe it or not... I really like the old sloppy thing. I have yet to have a single issue with mine... and I am easily working on at least 10k rounds through it. Lotsa doo-dads that are sold fit it nicely... and it is a very simple design... and low maintenance.

$400 is about average price... at least here in the Michigan area.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have a WASR 10 that has performed flawlessly since I've had it, put maybe 1k rounds through it.

A buddy of mine got one and had nothing but trouble out of it.

When they come from Romania they only accept the 10 round mags (single stack?), Century has to convert them to accept the wider mags. Sometimes they don't get it done right and your AK is nothing but trouble.

So they're hit and miss, I got lucky, you might not. I haven't heard anything bad about the SAR-1, and IIRC it's just as cheap.

·
Registered
568 Posts
My friends dad had a Romanian WASR10, and he loved that thing. It never gave his problems. Some how though, he recently sold the puppie for $1000. dunno how that happened.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Cy5018 said:
My friends dad had a Romanian WASR10, and he loved that thing. It never gave his problems. Some how though, he recently sold the puppie for $1000. dunno how that happened.