National Gun Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've broken in my Howa 1500 .308 HB 26" with about 500rds. of 147gr. and 180gr. practice ammo. I've only been shooting at 100yds. for about 2 months and now I'm shooting into one big hole by the time I get 20rds. down range, with a couple of flares. I will be moving on to the 200yd. range soon and I think I need to start thinking about correct bullet weight for my rifling. My Howa is a 1 in 10 and I understand that around 180gr. is where I need to be for the best match for my rifling. This is what I think I've read so far, but I'm still learning long range shooting. After 200yds. the science gets more exact the further out you shoot. But now I'm thinking about buying 500rds. of Federal premium match 175gr. Sierra Matchking HPBT. I don't want to buy a bulk amount of ammo and regret it. So, any thoughts?

·
Premium Member
5,951 Posts
I’m not a .308 shooter but it seems to me that these would be a bit heavy. The 30-06 match bullet is 168gr hollowpoints. 30-06 generally shoots a bit heavier bullet than the .308 but again I’m no expert.

·
Registered
18,636 Posts
Because you aren't hunting and don't have to worry about penetration or expansion, look for stability that produces uniformity. That means uniform pressures, as in repeatability. Look at the narratives in reloading manuals and in on-line articles for the results that have already been discovered and documented for you.