National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being newer to shooting my skills and techniques are not fully developed yet. I have noticed when firing larger, more powerful rounds the recoil can mess with me a little. I’m a self taught shooter so any help with managing recoil would be very helpful. Thanks - GunYankee

·
Live Free
2,873 Posts
A lot of dealing with recoil is mind over matter; training yourself to hold steady aim focusing on your target while maintaining a steady firm hold as you squeeze the trigger. Always keep the butt of the rifle stock firmly against your shoulder or it will kick a lot harder. Sometimes you can help yourself by putting a shooting pad on (Past) or adding a little temporary extra recoil pad on to the butt of the rifle. While the extra padding helps to mitigate felt recoil, it also begins to add to your length of pull and can affect your position in the scope and the proper hold on the rifle, so add no more than is essential.

There are better riflemen than me here that will hopefully chime in with a bit more insight.

·
Banned
8,370 Posts
Well, I will disagree with some here...........recoil is NOT a figment of your imagination.....there are two recoils......actual which is a math equation based on weight of the gun, weight of the payload, velocity, etc.. FELT recoil , AKA "KICK", is based on gun fit...................

·
Registered
3,150 Posts
The thing about recoil is you need to be careful and not develop a flinch. If you do then you need to be aware of it and control it.

I try to get beginner shooters started off right. A lot of shooting seems to be counter intuitive. I've seen new rifle shooters try to hold the gun away from them. It just gives the gun a running start. I've also seen tough guys brace as hard as they can and try to be immovable. The recoil energy needs somewhere to go.