National Gun Forum banner

What would you use for hunting a bear?

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey. I’m going to start hunting soon, and I’m looking for a good rifle. As I’m 15, I don’t want to spend to much on it. What I meant in the title wasn’t just for bear. I’m probably not going to go bear hunting anytime soon until I’m 18 or so, and in the meantime I’ll just be hunting deer and the such. Basically what I’m asking for is a recommended caliber that can take out anything from a deer to a bear (medium-big game). Criticism is accepted as I’m a complete newbie and want to learn. I will be hunting with my uncle most likely who is an avid hunter and has hunted grizzly before when I got bear hunting. Thanks in advance.

P.S. A recommended rifle also doesn’t hurt. As I’m 15 I’m not willing to drop more than 1k on it. If it’s 1k + it better be worth it. I’m not looking for a beginner rifle, I’m looking for one that’s going to last. Thanks again.

- Aidan

·
Aim true !
11,071 Posts
Remington 30.06 220 grain core lokt is my preferred round.

Reactions: Wag

·
Registered
1,264 Posts
You may want to start with something in a lighter caliber, before you worry about
bear hunting. Game that big calls for it's own rifle, in probably a belted magnum caliber,
like perhaps 375 H&H. For now, I would seek a Bolt-Action, in 30.06, by a reliable
manufacturer, perhaps Ruger, Browning, or Remington. That will put down most
game in America. And don't cheap out on the scope, dude. If you spend 1000$,
a decent scope should be @400$ of the total.

·
Ancient Gaseous Emanation
54,413 Posts
The first several white tail deer and black bear I took were with a .30-30 Win round out of a Marlin lever action rifle. Then I got a Remington chambered in .30-06 Spg. Both rounds killed them just as dead as the other. Neither rifle wore a scope.

Reactions: Dog Soldier

·
Registered
3,458 Posts