National Gun Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am new to a lot of this, so please forgive me if I ask questions that should be easily answered...
I have recently moved to an area where I will need to have a backstop if I want to shoot on my property. I would be using a 9mm, a 45 acp, and a .22.
my property does not have the capability to have an bulldozer, skidsteer, or backhoe out back; therefore I cannot dig up dirt for a berm. I have limited funds, so huge sheets of steel are not possible (I don't believe), and it needs to not be too cumbersome visually because my wife likes the look of nature, not a huge backstop when she looks to our woods.
I am legally able to shoot on my property.
This is what I was thinking about making:
Using two 10' 4X4 posts, two sheets of 4'x6' 3/4" plywood, 2x4s, and 4'x6' rubber 3/4" barn stall mat.
I would post the 4x4s, 2' deep, hang/frame the plywood (using the 2x4's) 2' above the ground, thus becoming 6' high, 6' wide. I would put one horse mat inside the plywood frame, and fill the rest of the space with sand. I would hang the other mat on the outside of the plywood. My hopes would be the rubber would slow the bullets, and maintain some structure of the plywood, and the sand would catch the lead. My fear is that the rubber may ricochet, but I am hopeful it would just shoot through it.
I am curious if this seems like a good, safe, visually unobtrusive, economical answer to my situation. Any help would be very much appreciated and respected. Thank you.

·
Registered
14,899 Posts
About 18 bails of hay, stacked lengthwise, 2 deep, 3 wide, 3 high, should do it. I've thought about a backstop on my brother-in-laws property, and that's what I would do. Probably stop and AR too.

·
Registered
8,086 Posts