National Gun Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my first 5.56 AR15 rifle a couple weeks ago. Haven't touched anything like this since boot camp (1975). I saw a video where the AR15 bolt was held back by the catch, but when the butt stock was thumped on the ground it released and went forward. As an AR15 newbie, I have some questions about the bolt and safety.

(1) I know the bolt catch is friction only and spring loaded. So any thump that releases the friction, either by moving the bolt off the catch or significantly moving the catch, will allow the bolt to go forward -- yes??
(2) Is there a safer catch mechanism? Or is this realistically a non-issue?
(3) Assuming no other problems with the bolt carrier group assembly - as long as the hammer does not release, the firing pin will not contact the primer and the round will not fire -- correct??
(4) Does the safety mechanism work on the hammer or the trigger? If on the trigger, could the hammer still release with a jolt from being dropped and fire a round?

·
Registered
3,169 Posts
I saw a video by a NFAC organizer saying that when you do slam the buttstock a round is fired. That's how he explained the negligent discharges at an event.

That is absolutely not true. At most it will chamber a round. Following all the safety rules it's not a problem.

I found it with a reply:

Reactions: deputy

·
Registered
13,723 Posts
Now I'm tempted to start slamming my AR into the ground.....resist...resist.....

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's similar to the video I saw - one with original and a rebuttal. I am not worried that my rifle is going to suddenly go off in my hands, or even if it drops from my hands. I do, though, want to get a better understanding of the weapon. And since this area became a "hot" focus, I thought I'd throw out a few questions.

·
Registered
3,169 Posts