National Gun Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Red State Rising
2,215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all, this is my complete beginners guide to AR-15 lower receiver assembly - as I was a complete beginner this evening when starting the build... I had never handled an AR-15 before. I thought I'd take pictures as I remembered, and post any tips I had that could encourage other beginners to build their own rifle.

Firstly - I purchased a Doublestar stripped lower receiver, a bullet button mag log kit, and a modified 10 round, original 30 round pmag from my local dealer. www.coldwarshooters.com. They have a local store on Palm Avenue in Highland, Ca.

Then I purchased an M4 rifle kit from www.del-ton.com which had everything I needed to complete my rifle assembly (including lower parts kit).

This is the complete rifle kit before assembly. (I forgot to place the lower in this picture, my apologies).

Now before trying to assemble the lower, I looked for guides. The guide I used solely, was from AR-15.com, and can be found here... http://www.ar15.com/content/guides/assembly/lower/
I will make references to this guide throughout my guide.

1. The first step was the magazine catch assembly - this wsa very straightforward in the guide... just remember to pay attention to the orientation of the lower in the pictures... it helps to take note of what side they are referring to for all assembly steps.

2. Triger guard assembly was very straightforward as well. I used a flat punch with a small piece of wood under the lower flange, so I didn't bend it. I didn't have a 1/8" punch, instead I used a 3/8 center punch that was tapered to a point on the end. Be careful not to slide the punch, which would surely marr the finish of the lower.