National Gun Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been casting for quite a few years now. Started off with a210 gr 45 bullet only because my son and I shoot a lot of bowling pins. The club I belong to has many cast bullet silhoutte shoots and cast only bench rest matches so I started on other calibers.What I have ended up with are moulds that I don't use or were not the right bullet that I wanted.If anyboby is interested I have a few I would like to sell. I'll list later in the buy, sell forum.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Silver bullet huh,you the Lone Ranger? I have no problem with the necessary temp, I just don't have a lot of silver laying around. I don't think I should melt down Grandmas silverware.

·
Banned
818 Posts
When I used to own my cap and ball revolver I used to cast my own .451 balls. I still have the double cavity mold.

·
Registered
263 Posts
I used to cast all of my pistol bullets and some rifle as well. But for quite a few years now I've only been casting for my muzzleloaders. With the price of bullets rising, I may have to go back to casting my own pistol bullets again. Good thing I hung on to must of my molds.

·
Premium Member
15,424 Posts
Gabby said:
I used to cast all of my pistol bullets and some rifle as well. But for quite a few years now I've only been casting for my muzzleloaders. With the price of bullets rising, I may have to go back to casting my own pistol bullets again. Good thing I hung on to must of my molds.
Yeah, but good luck with getting lead at a decent price. The tire shops around here no longer give their wheel weights away like they used to. I heard they're getting serious $$$ from the scrap dealers now. Metals have gone up across the board. I got almost 2X what I used to get for my yearly "clean out the scrap brass" run to the recycler, this year.

·
Registered
263 Posts
gunrnr said: