National Gun Forum banner

1 - 20 of 127 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start my saying I am not an expert but both my wife and I shoot in competition and my wife is the only woman at our local club (600 members) who shoots defensive pistol, IDPA and 3 gun. She is also active in the NRA's Women On Target.

This is what we have learned: Men buy guns that most women won't shoot. That is, men will buy that ideal self defense gun, be it a 9mm or a shotgun and hand it to their wife. They might get them to shoot it once. As a result, my wife has been pressed into service by a number of our male club members who ask her to get their wives to shoot. She normally finds it an easy task. The first thing she does is take away whatever gun the husband has provided and hands them a 22 pistol. She moves the target in close and works them through the basics. It is amazing to watch the transformation from a timid to confident shooter. Even problems can be fun. Just last weekend, we each worked with wives of friends. I took away a 38 snub nose from my charge and handed her a Browning Buckmark. She loved it. My wife worked with another whose husband had just purchased a
Sig 22 after she refused to shoot a 45 cal. Since the Sig is notorious for feed issues, you would think that the "student" would be frustrated. But, since my wife was able to patiently explain why you needed to understand clearing issues, her student later said that learning to handle problems was the most interesting and fun part of the day. We started with two women who did not want to handle a gun much less be at the range and ended up with two new excited shooters.

Short Version-don't buy something you want-start them with a 22. Better to hit with a 22 than miss with a 45.

·
Registered
13 Posts