National Gun Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a springer champion needing a couple of extra mags. I think Im going to go wih MCCormicks first. Should i stick with the factory close 7 round mags or should I move to 8 round mags. My brain tells me 7 rounds would be better more reliable etc... just looking for your thoughts?

·
Registered
957 Posts
I have been using Wilson's 8 and 10 rounders for several years. No problems. Got a few CM mags that came with my pistols, no problems with those either, but the Wilson mags are eisier to work with. You gotta handle them to know what Im talking about. I bought some off brand mags when I was new to it and they sucked, stay away froms anything less than a good brand. Just buy 1 Wilson mag and you'll see what I mean. :)

·
Registered
957 Posts
I'm thinking 8 rounders have only been around since the late '70s. I read in some old books that make me think that. My guess is that some of the "old timers" gun writers were hesitant to change. I think the extra round got squeezed in there due to a follower design change. Now, maybe if you leave your mags loaded all the time, a seven rounder will not stress the spring like an 8 will. I keep 2 8's and 1 10 rounder loaded all the time and only cycle them out every 6 months or so. Havent put new springs in any of them that Ive owned for several years now. When they get dirty, I talk 'em to work and blow them out with compressed air, and lubricate with a little powdered graphite...no oils.

·
Premium Member
2,253 Posts